SOL #14 I hope that someone sits with you

I hope that someone sits with you
when you’re feeling lonely or sad
when you’re angry or mad.
I hope that someone sits with you.

I hope that someone sits with you
when you feel like there’s nothing left
and emptiness is your best friend.
I hope that someone sits with you.

I hope that someone sits with you
when you’re too young to make a decision
and too old to start new.
I hope that someone sits with you.

I hope that someone sits with you
when you don’t feel like trying
but you won’t quit.
I hope that someone sits with you.

I hope that someone sits with you
when you feel like time’s up
and you’ve got nothing left to give.
I hope that someone sits with you.

I hope that someone sits with you
when your eyes are leaking
and your brow’s furrowing.
I hope that someone sits with you.

I hope that someone sits with you
when you blink a new tomorrow
and gaze beyond the dark.
I hope that someone sits with you.

I hope that someone sits with you
when light creeps in
and your heart rises with hope.
I hope that someone sits with you.

I hope that someone sits with you
when you have fresh eyes
and an anxious heart.
I hope that someone sits with you.

I hope that someone sits with you
when you’re ready to start over
and need a guiding hand.
I hope that someone sits with you.

I hope that someone sits with you
when you need that final push
to remember who you are.
I hope that someone sits with you.

 

I hope that someone sits with you
like you sat with me.

 

For my dear friend, Gissel Escobedo.

 

 

10 thoughts on “SOL #14 I hope that someone sits with you

  1. Oohh, I love this. Just absolutely love this. As soon as I can, I’m printing this and putting it somewhere I see it every morning for school.

    A very moving, important poem, spoken from someone who understands “little” humanity — what we all feel when we’re feeling small. Thank you.

    Like

    1. I was talking with my colleague about how nice your comment was that I didn’t know how to respond because whatever I would say wouldn’t be appreciative enough. So thank YOU for your wonderfully kind words. Your thoughts give my poem meaning, and for that, I cannot thank you enough.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re very, very welcome. Isn’t it just amazing… we don’t know how amazing our words are or how much they will impact someone unless we let them out, tease them out, force them out.

        A lesson for me to remember, for us and for our students.. and that matches perfectly with your piece, because some can’t let out their brilliance because of their need. We can help meet that gap and make a difference.

        Wow..

        Thanks again!

        Like

  2. llsmiles

    Favorite lines:
    when you blink a new tomorrow
    and gaze beyond the dark.
    when light creeps in
    and your heart rises with hope.

    What a wonderful person you have in your corner. I feel the appreciation you have for them. Did you give them a copy of your writing? This is very much a Gift of Words.

    Like

Leave a Reply

