SOL #5 World Reminders

I have two extra days off and I spend it working. Working on my final presentation, my summative. My list of artifacts that somehow prove I am the “good” teacher I always wanted to be.

I couldn’t think of anything more stressful.

This month, as a school, we are focusing on being more Mindful. I am the PBIS Co-Universal Coach (Positive Behavior Intervention System) at my school, so I’m one of the leaders of this newest focus.

At first I just shrugged it off. Thought it was a very neat idea. Really interested, but you know, for my personal life, I have things to do…summative artifacts to complete. But today, when I paused, I thought it might be nice to take a walk.

 

As soon as we stepped outside, my dog and I, we felt the warm breeze with a few dancing rays of sunlight left. We sped up excitedly at the thought of nature in our lungs and light on our skins. And we just kept walking.

We got to the reservoir and the clouds were moving ever so slightly. The trees were swaying in the strengthening wind and the sky was lit up in get-ready-for-nighttime colors of reds and blues and deep purples.

Content.

I was reminded that I need mindfulness too.

FullSizeRender (8).jpg

Then, later, I went to the store searching for air freshener sprays. I don’t really know what else I was searching the isles for, but I looked anyway.

I strolled up and down the rows of goods, yet nothing beckoned my way. And then at the self check-out line, just when it was my turn I saw it.

Mindfulness.

I think the world is whispering something to me and it’s about time I’d listen.

Screen Shot 2017-03-05 at 10.32.46 PM.png

3 thoughts on “SOL #5 World Reminders

  1. What a good reminder! I think teachers are often so bad at mindfulness, because, like you said, who has time? But really, who doesn’t have time to be mindful? I’m going to try this week to be more mindful. Thanks for the inspiration!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You’re such a great writer, Amanda. I loved this post!
    Yes, in those moments when we’re all stressed, we do need to slow down a bit. But trust me when I tell you – your work speaks for itself. Artifacts are just a matter of the process, you’re a great teacher – fabulous teacher – with or without artifacts.
    I hope you enjoy many more mindful moments this week!
    xo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

