SOL #18 Fits of Laughter

My tongue peels off the roof of my mouth.

 Have we taken off yet? I asked myself while starring out the window of the American Airlines plane.

My eyes begged the same question as they scanned the isle, the windows, the nearby seats.

Parched, cried my throat.

I was desperate. And, as they say, desperate times call for desperate measures. I figured I waited long enough, so I stretched to get my water bottle and yanked it up from below my legs.

My hand frantically searched for the  mouth-piece release button and eagerly pushed it in.

Without warning, water spewed like a fountain from my water bottle directly into the plane ceiling above me! 

But not just above me…

“What was that?!” Said the man diagonally in front of me, looking around.

“I don’t know…” Trailed the woman positioned in the seat before me, still searching for the source.

Giggle.

“Look!” Pointed the man at the cluster of water droplets dangling above his companion’s head. 

He was answered with a puzzled look and could only respond with a face of confusion.

Where had the water come from on a plane over 30,000 feet high???!

I did everything I could to suppress my fits of laughter. Hold your breath, Amanda! 

I think it’s safe to say, we are well in the air.

Thanks, air pressure.


Leave a Reply

