Remembering Amadeo

We got the email. The one we knew would eventually come. The one sharing the inevitable end of a life hardly lived, of a bright soul taken too young.

He was my third grade student four short years ago. He was full of sass and smarts and life.

My heart aches. Most for his family. For his younger sister, who was my student only last year. And most for his parents, especially mother, as a mother.

There is nothing that can be said, nothing that can be done. Only an empty space and and ache.

I will always remember his spunk, his little quips, his “I’m just gonna be myself” attitude, and his incredible strength to carry on.

Life truly is short, and moments are fleeting. Today, and every day, I will hug my children a little tighter and love my students a little harder.

His life will serve as a reminder and his light will shine long after his body is gone. Like a star in the night, Amadeo will, always, shine on. ♥️

6 thoughts on “Remembering Amadeo

  1. I am sorry for your loss. Amadeo sounded like a sweetheart. The death of a child is always so hard and comes as a surprise even if we are expecting it. I hope the days and weeks ahead bring you peace. I will remember you and Amadeo’s family in my prayers tonight.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lodonnell13

    My thoughts and prayers go out to his family, you, and all of his Emerson and Heritage families as you grieve and honor his memory. That call was hard to answer yesterday, knowing what was going to be said. Thanks for writing this post.

    Like

  3. I’m so sorry. This had to be so hard to write. I cried and I didn’t even know him. He touched so many lives. My heart aches for his parents. No parent should ever have to bury their child. May the happy memories of his time in your classroom comfort you now and always.

    Like

Leave a comment